1022.6666666666666x767__origin__0x0_Eddie_Jones_England_trainingDylan Hartley will captain England when they take on Scotland as Eddie Jones prepares for his first game as head coach.

Jones has chosen Owen Farrell at inside centre while Danny Care starts at scrum-half. Joe Marler is named at loosehead prop with George Kruis partnering Joe Launchbury in the second row.

Courtney Lawes is fit enough to be named among the replacements which include three debutants – Jack Clifford, Paul Hill and Ollie Devoto.

Harlequins’ Chris Robshaw starts at blindside flanker, James Haskell is installed at open-side with Billy Vunipola at number eight.

Vunipola is one of three vice-captains along with Farrell and full-back Mike Brown.

Between them Jones’ side have 512 international caps as they aim to retain the Calcutta Cup, a trophy they have held since 2008. 

England head coach Eddie Jones said: “There were some tight calls on selection, but we have picked a match-day squad with a blend of experience and youth.   

“The boys have worked hard since coming into camp to understand how I want the team to play going forward. We have prepared well and I am pleased with the progress the group has made in the short time we’ve had together. 

“We are indebted to the work Stuart Lancaster has done over last four years. I have inherited a talented and highly motivated group of players. 

“We are confident we can go to Edinburgh and win, but we’re in no doubt it will be a huge challenge. Playing at Murrayfield in front of a passionate Scottish crowd will be a real test for this team but one I know we can rise to.

“We have named three vice captains in Owen Farrell, Billy Vunipola and Mike Brown who will support Dylan Hartley with his leadership responsibilities.”  

England: 15 Mike Brown, 14 Anthony Watson, 13 Jonathan Joseph, 12 Owen Farrell, 11 Jack Nowell, 10 George Ford, 9 Danny Care, 8 Billy Vunipola, 7 James Haskell, 6 Chris Robshaw, 5 George Kruis, 4 Joe Launchbury, 3 Dan Cole, 2 Dylan Hartley (c), 1 Joe Marler

Replacements: 16 Jamie George, 17 Mako Vunipola, 18 Paul Hill, 19 Courtney Lawes, 20 Jack Clifford, 21 Ben Youngs, 22 Alex Goode, 23 Ollie Devoto

Date: Saturday, February 6

Venue: Murrayfield

Kick-off: 16:50 GMT

Referee: John Lacey (Ireland)

Assistant Referees: Romain Poite (France), Stuart Berry (South Africa)

TMO: George Ayoub (Australia)